West Bengal, Assam prepare for second phase of polling

Apart from the high-voltage contest at Nandigram between CM Mamata Banerjee and BJP chief Suvendu Adhikari, 29 different constituencies throughout Purba and Paschim Medinipur, Bankura and South 24 Parganas will vote on Thursday. In 2016, the TMC received 21 of these 30 seats.

Around 171 candidates are contesting within the second phase –– 43 of them with pending legal instances.

Nandigram noticed a high-decibel battle between the CM and Adhikari, with the latter calling her a “begum” and “khala” and claiming he would win by 50,000 votes. On Tuesday, the final day of marketing campaign, Banerjee, who injured her foot in Nandigram, stood up on one leg, and requested individuals to “keep their cool and vote for Trinamool”. The Election Commission (EC) has imposed Section 144 in Nandigram until Friday night time and mentioned it has began air surveillance with a helicopter.

  • All
  • West Bengal
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Assam
  • Kerala
  • Puducherry

  • The TMC had raised considerations about Adhikari allegedly bringing in individuals from different states to affect voters. Nearly 22 firms of central forces are being deployed within the constituency, which has 355 polling cubicles.

    The different attention-grabbing contest is in Debra in Paschim Medinipur the place two former IPS officers Bharati Ghosh and Humayun Kabir will combat it out. Once the SP of Paschim Medinipur, who additionally managed the celebration administrative affairs for TMC, Ghosh was near the CM until she defected to the BJP over variations together with her. Kabir, whose mother and father nonetheless reside in Debra, has projected himself because the son of the soil.

    Unemployment, native corruption, scarcity of water are main points which voters of the 4 seats of Sunderbans confront.

    Six-time Congress MLA and former president of Congress’ West Bengal unit, Manas Bhunia, is the TMC candidate from Sabang in Paschim Medinipur that’s more likely to see a three-cornered contest. Cricketer Ashok Dinda is pitted in opposition to Sangram Kumar Dolai, a sitting MLA. Dinda in 2016 had received the Tamluk seat from CPI by a slender margin.

    Actors Soham Chakraborty and Sayantika Banerjee are contesting for Chandipur and Bankura respectively from TMC whereas actor Hiranmoy Chattopadhyay is the BJP candidate from Kharagpur Sadar, one of the three seats BJP received in 2016. Bengal BJP president Dilip Ghosh had received the seat then defeating Congress MLA Gyan Singh Sohanpal, however after he turned an MP, the TMC wrested the seat from BJP within the bypoll.

    Nine of the 30 seats are underneath Suvendu Adhikari’s affect. In Panskura Paschim, one of his aides and BJP Yuva Morcha chief Sintu Senapati is pitted in opposition to Firoja Biwi, an MLA since 2009 who vacated her seat in Nandigram for Adhikari in 2016. Biwi had misplaced her son through the Nandigram protests of 2007. In Haldia, sitting MLA Tapasi Mondal who was earlier with the CPM however joined BJP together with Adhikari, will tackle TMC’s Swapan Naskaran and CPM’s Manika Kar Paik. Mondal had received the seat in 2016 with over 50% votes.


    Meanwhile, in Assam round 345 candidates are within the fray for the 39 seats within the second phase of polls on April 1. Around 73,44,631 voters who will forged their votes at 10,592 polling stations on this phase. Out these 37,34,537 are males, 36,09,959 females and 135 transgenders.

    Areas going to polls are unfold throughout central Assam, two hill districts, some elements of Bodoland territorial council and your entire Barak valley. Thursday poll will resolve the destiny of 4 ministers and the Assam meeting deputy speaker.

    Parimal Suklabaidya is searching for re-election from Dholai, Bhabesh Kalita from Rangiya, Pijush Hazarika from Jagiroad, deputy speaker Aminul Haque Laskar from Sonai, Sum Ronghang from Diphu, Rihon Daimary from Udalguri and Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary from Panery.

    Siddique Ahmed is contesting from Karimganj South. Brother of AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal, Sirajuddin Ajmal, is contesting from Jamunamukh.

    Former deputy speaker Dilip Kumar Paul is contesting as an impartial from Silchar after being denied a BJP ticket. Former minister Gautam Roy is contesting from Katigora.

    BJP is contesting 34 seats on this phase and allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) is contesting six and UPPL three.

    The Congress is contesting in 27 seats and its allies AIUDF in eight and BPF in 4. Assam Jatiya Parishad is contesting in 17 seats. There are round d 174 impartial candidates

    Source link

    #West #Bengal #Assam #prepare #phase #polling

    Related Articles

    Leave a Reply

    Stay Connected

    - Advertisement -

    Latest Articles

    %d bloggers like this: