Bengal 2nd Phase Voting Begins with Violence, Polling Agent Heckled, TMC Worker ‘Hacked to Death’; All Eyes on Nandigram Battle

For the Congress-Left-ISF alliance candidate Minakshi Mukherjee, the problem is to regain her get together’s misplaced floor. The Election Commision has declared as delicate all the ten,620 polling cubicles in 30 constituencies unfold over 4 districts the place polls can be held on Thursday.

It has deployed round 651 firms of central drive to present safety, moreover state police personnel at strategic places throughout the polling, which is able to start at 7 am, sources within the ballot physique stated. More than 75 lakh voters will resolve the destiny of 191 candidates within the 30 seats unfold throughout 4 districts of Purba and Paschim Medinipur, South 24 Parganas and Bankura.

A complete 199 firms of Central Armed Police Force can be deployed in Purba Medinipur, 210 firms in Paschim Medinipur, 170 in South 24 Parganas and 72 in Bankura, the sources stated. TMC and BJP are contesting in all of the 30 seats, whereas CPI(M) is within the fray in 15 and its alliance companions within the Sanjukta Morcha the Congress and ISF are competing in 13 and two seats respectively.

Polling will happen amid strict COVID-19 pointers in 9 seats of Paschim Medinipur, eight in Bankura, 4 seats in South 24 Parganas and 9 seats in Purba Medinipur – the house floor Suvendu Adhikari. Nandigram is in Purba Medinipur district. While Banerjee had been tenting in Nandigram for the final 4 days, BJP fielded its `large weapons’, together with dwelling minister Amit Shah, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and celebrity Mithun Chakraborty to defend Adhikari’s turf, whih he had gained in 2016 and take on `Didi’ (as Mamata is popularly known as).

Apart from id politics and Bengali sub- nationalism, the demand for jobs, inclusion of Hindu backward communities within the OBC class and organising of agro-based business have emerged as important ballot planks within the second section of polls. Of the 30 seats which is able to see voting on Thursday, 23 have been gained by TMC within the 2016 meeting elections, 5 by Left Front and Congress and BJP one every.

The political equation within the state had modified in 2019 when BJP made large inroads within the tribal-dominated Jangal Mahal area and Medinipur belt by sweeping all of the 5 Lok Sabha seats. The TMC, nevertheless, has been in a position to keep its dominance in South 24 Parganas district, the place there may be sizeable minority inhabitants. A notable seat going to the ballot within the second section is Sabang, the place TMC has fielded its Rajya Sabha MP Manas Bhunia. He is up in opposition to TMC turncoat and BJP chief Amulya Maity.

Bhunia, a former state Congress president, had gained the seat from 1982 until 2016 as Congress nominee earlier than switching over to the TMC in September 2016. TMC has fielded actor Sayantika Banerjee, a well-liked face within the Bengali silver display, from Bankura seat in opposition to BJP’s Niladri Sekhar Dana. The Sanjukta Morcha has fielded Congress candidate Radharani Banerjee.

In Debra seat, two former IPS officers will cross swords. One is BJP candidate Bharati Ghosh and the opposite is Humayun Kabir of the TMC. Both had resigned from their senior police posts to be part of lively politics. Banerjee, who has been injured in her leg throughout campaigning earlier this month, crisscrossed the vast majority of the constituencies the place ballot can be held on Thursday in her wheelchair.

TMC MP Abhishek Banerjee toured the remainder asserting that TMC won’t let Bengal to be dominated from Delhi or Gujarat in an obvious reference to the battery of central BJP leaders and ministers tenting within the state. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP nationwide president J P Nadda had led BJP’s marketing campaign from the entrance addressing rallies at Kanthi, Bankura and Nandigram and urging the citizens to vote for BJP to usher in ‘ashol poriborton’ (precise change) to construct ‘Sonar Bangla’ (affluent Bengal). .

Source link

#Bengal #2nd #Phase #Voting #Begins #Violence #Polling #Agent #Heckled #TMC #Worker #Hacked #Death #Eyes #Nandigram #Battle

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: